dummy picture

What is CCP?

CCP was formed in 2000 as a partnership of major energy companies working to advance CO2 capture and storage (CCS) development for the oil & gas industry. Current CCP4 members are: BP, Chevron and Petrobras.

The group has been working closely with government organizations – including the US Department of Energy, the European Commission and more than 60 academic bodies and global research institutes. Altogether, CCP has undertaken more than 150 projects since 2000 to increase the science, economics and engineering applications of CCS.

The third phase of activity is complete and CCP has now embarked upon the fourth phase of its work. During Phase Three (2009-2014), CCP focused on implementing capture technologies at the demonstration stage. This phase saw significant progress resulting in a number of demonstrations, field trials and studies.

The CCP4 program continues this work. The capture program aims to further knowledge in the three CO2 capture scenarios addressed in previous phases (refinery, heavy oil and natural gas power generation), together with a new scenario – CO2 separation from natural gas production. Within CO2 storage, the CCP4 program will continue to demonstrate safe and secure geological containment through field-based monitoring and the development of robust intervention protocols.

CCS is now accepted as an appropriate emissions reduction technology to help address the challenge of reducing CO2 emissions while the world develops alternative energy sources. Over the last ten years, CCP has done more than any other single industry body to advance the science of CO2 capture and storage.

Participating Organizations


Click on logos to follow links

BP logo

Chevron logo

petrobras logo

Government Contributors

DOE logo

U.S. Department of Energy

Norges forskningsrad logo

Norges forskningsråd

EU logo

European Union


Previous Industry Members

ENI logo

shell logo

Conoco logo

statoil logo

encana logo

Repsol logo

epri logo

suncor logo

eni – Member, Phase One, Phase Two and Phase Three

Shell – Member, Phase One, Phase Two and Phase Three

ConocoPhillips – Member, Phase Two and Phase Three

StatoilHydro - Member, Phase One and Phase Two

EnCana - Member, Phase One

EPRI – Associate Member, Phase Two and Phase Three

Repsol - Associate Member, Phase One, Phase Two

General links

Capture links

Storage links

Policy links


© Copyright 2015 CCP  

BP logoChevron logo Petrobras logo

CCP, Phase Four Participating Organizations